Karaoke Saturday 8/08/2009

My first thought when I saw this video was, “Sweet, someone covered Fallen!” And then, horror…the guy started singing. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

The music sounds great, I’ll give them that. And I did seriously consider using this video for Cover Wednesday, but I just couldn’t get over the guy’s voice. It sounds so forced and fake. I fear some of you may not agree with me on this one, so let’s hear it. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I’ve decided to give them a heart-shaped courage award because they were halfway good.

Seether Freak

Update 05/02/2010: Please check out the comments section of this post. The lead singer of the band stopped by to voice his opinion about this post. I have checked out some of their over videos on YouTube and no longer feel that his voice sounds “forced and fake”. This is just his normal singing voice. Please check The Day Street Brothel’s Myspace page and their YouTube channel to form your own opinion of the band.

13 responses to “Karaoke Saturday 8/08/2009

  1. I agree… The music is pretty good, but i think he is trying WAY to hard to sound like Shaun does on that song and it just sounds horrible. It kinda sounds like he’s in pain.

  2. Oh nooo… *cover ears* :/ This is what I’d like to call “country metal” – with a flu. Just listen to the back up vocal – I automatically hear a banjo when he sings… In other words, far from Seether.

  3. Listen to the bands original music, & you’ll see that it is not a “forced Voice”, but that he is trying to pick covers that are close in range to the original music, & that the band is a fan of.

    • You guys talk like Shaun is the only singer in the world that has that vocal style, if that’s the cae then he is forcing his voice way to hard to sound like Kurt Cobain, or any other singer with that vocal style. & yes, I am a Seether fan, in case you were wondering.

      • First, I’m glad to hear that you’re a Seether fan. ๐Ÿ™‚ Welcome to the blog even if it was in such a not so nice way.

        Second, I listened to a bunch of your other uploads on YouTube as you requested. I take back what I said about your voice sounding “forced”. You sound exactly the same in all of your songs. That is obviously just your voice. But I still do not like your cover of Fallen. It’s just my opinion, of course, and it looks like your band is doing very well despite my opinion. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Third, thank you for stating your opinion rationally and not getting pissed off and using inappropriate language in your comment. You’re obviously a professional and I appreciate that.

        I will make an update to the blog post. Good luck with your band!

        • I appreciate that, & let me just say that I definitely don’t expect everybody to like everything I do, that only happens to a very chosen few bands, musicians, etc & I am fully aware that I’m not one of them. I appreciate that you actually took the time to check out the DSB’s original tunes to draw comparison, & the fact that you even posted the vid in the first place, in the words of Gene Simmons – “bad publicity is still publicity”, & i’ll take it either way. Have a good one.

  4. I’ve heard the band play almost every show they have played! Just thought I would help the lead singer out by saying…He sounds that deep even when he is talking. Its not forced, if he sings a lullaby to his kid, it sounds that deep. But..thats why I like them, they’re heavy! Unfortunately they do sound somewhat country sometimes only because to get a gig, you gotta play what the bar wants you to..but at heart…they are heavy!

Leave a Reply

